Einstein Toolkit Maintainers

The Einstein Toolkit is comprised of a core set of software components whose development and support is overseen by the Einstein Toolkit Maintainers. Additional components are developed and supported by individuals and groups in coordination with the maintainers. The Maintainers mandate is to:

  1. Oversee the architecture of the Einstein Toolkit.
  2. Ensure software quality and verification across the Einstein Toolkit.
  3. Oversee the inclusion of software components in the Einstein Toolkit. This includes new software components to be developed in the Consortium as part of
    the core Einstein Toolkit and the vetting of software contributed as external components.
  4. Ensure that appropriate individuals have privileges to check software into the repository.

The Einstein Toolkit Maintainers can be contacted at, the maintainers are:

Gabrielle Allen was a professor in the Departments of Computer Science and Physics & Astronomy at Louisiana State University and is now at Skoltech, Russia. Gabrielle's research interests are design of community-centric programming environments and tools for large scale applications in relativisitic astrophysics and other fields. Gabrielle is also interested in the development of pedagogical tools for computational science.

Peter Diener is an assistant research professor at the Center for Computation & Technology and the Department of Physics & Astronomy at Louisiana State University. He is interested in relativistic astrophysics and specializes in binary black hole simulations.

Roland Haas is a research programmer at NCSA at the University of Illinois in Urbana-Champaign. Roland's research work focuses on the simulation of gravitational waves generated by both comparable mass and extreme mass-ratio binaries.

Ian Hinder is a research scientist at the Max Planck Institute for Gravitational Physics where he leads the black hole team. Ian is the main developer of the Kranc package that generates Cactus thorns for solving partial differential equations.

Frank Löffler is research staff at the Center for Computation and Technology at Louisiana State University. His main interests are the dynamics of compact binary systems and core-collapse simulations. Frank Löffler is leading the Einstein Toolkit. Within the computational source, he is responsible for the core hydrodynamics thorns in the Einstein Toolkit. Frank also contributes to the data and I/O aspects of the Einstein Toolkit cyberinfrastructure efforts.

Bruno Mundim is a postdoc in the Max Planck Institute for Gravitational Physics. His main interest is in studying the dynamics of compact star binaries. His PhD thesis work was in Boson Star binaries and he is currently part of a collaboration (CIGR) to investigate the dynamics of Black Hole-Neutron Star binaries. He is interested in developing astrophysically realistic initial data for numerical simulations of Black-Hole binaries

Christian D. Ott is a Professor of Theoretical Astrophysics in the TAPIR group at Caltech. He specializes in simulations of stellar collapse, core- collapse supernovae, black hole formation, neutron star mergers, and gamma-ray bursts.

Erik Schnetter is Research Technologies Group Lead at the Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics in Canada and also adjunct professor at the Center for Computation & Technology at Louisiana State University. Erik's scientific interests lie in high performance computing and relativistic astrophysics. Erik is the lead architect for the Cactus Framework and the originator the Carpet infrastructure.

Einstein Toolkit Maintainers Emeritus

These individuals at some point were active Einstein Toolkit Maintainers. They may still be active users or even active main developers, but they stepped down from the duties of a toolkit maintainer mentioned above.

Tanja Bode is member of the Theoretical Astrophysics Section in Tuebingen (TAT), working on the physics of neutron stars.


Many people have contributed to the software development of the Einstein Toolkit. This list is not complete, if you spot missing names please email the toolkit maintainers.

  • Miguel Alcubierre
  • Gabrielle Allen
  • Marcus Ansorg
  • Luca Baiotti
  • Eloisa Bentivegna
  • Sebastiano Bernuzzi
  • Tanja Bode
  • Steven R. Brandt
  • Giovanni Corvino
  • Roberto De Pietri
  • Peter Diener
  • Harry Dimmelmeier
  • Yaakoub El Khamra
  • Joshua Faber
  • Tony Font
  • Joachim Frieben
  • Bruno Giacomazzo
  • Tom Goodale
  • Carsten Gundlach
  • Roland Haas
  • Ian Hawke
  • Scott Hawley
  • Ian Hinder
  • Colby Jordan
  • Thorsten Kellermann
  • Gerd Lanfermann
  • Frank Löffler
  • Joan Masso
  • Philipp Mösta
  • Mark Miller
  • Pedro Montero
  • Bruno Mundim
  • Scott Noble
  • Christian D. Ott
  • Ravi Paruchuri
  • Denis Pollney
  • Thomas Radke
  • Christian Reisswig
  • Luciano Rezzolla
  • David Rideout
  • Matei Ripeanu
  • Erik Schnetter
  • Edward Seidel
  • Eric Seidel
  • John Shalf
  • Nikolaos Stergioulas
  • Ryoji Takahashi
  • Jonathan Thornburg
  • Aaryn Tonita
  • Paul Walker
  • Barry Wardell
  • Yosef Zlochower

The website was created and launched by Colby Jordan and later re-designed by Ahmed A Shawer. The project's Einstein logo was designed and drawn by Rayyan Tash.